Wisdom tooth peeking out... but no pain?

freeindeed

This morning I noticed a corner of a wisdom tooth sticking out of my gum, but there is no pain. When people say, "wisdom tooth coming in" does that mean it's actuallly growing in? Or rather that the gum that covers it is just receding? Will I have to pull out my wisdom teeth or can I just leave it there?

haha its odd that you're 26 and you just now see it coming in. that should've already happened by now. its not uncommon to NOT have problems with wisdom teeth. however almost everyone i know had to get them taken out, though i have all four of mine and zero problems. wisdom teeth have to get taken out if they are coming in at weird angles, not enough room in your mouth, or they start to cause pain.

I'm actually a dentist, so I can answer this one for you Wisdom teeth (like all teeth) actually DO grow in. They grow because as the root forms, the tooth gets longer until it begins to peak through the gums. They may or may not hurt depending on a number of circumstances. Mine hurt like CRAZY when they grew in. I was like a teething baby lol. Some people don't even know they're growing in until they're in the mouth because they have no pain at all.

The pain is not necessarily because it is "pushing against other teeth" which many people believe, but because of the same reasons it often hurts when a baby's teeth grow in. The gums around the teeth often become tender. Some people actually have jaw pain because there's just not enough room. But the pain that some people experience is caused by a number of different things...it just depends on the case.